Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Academic One FileThis link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly.
Alternate Name(s):AONE, AOF, aof
Opposing ViewointsThis link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Alternate Name(s):ov, OVIC
Student Resources in ContextThis link opens in a new windowStudent Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Alternate Name(s):sric, SUIC
World History in ContextThis link opens in a new windowWorld History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Alternate Name(s):whic, WHIC
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Fine Arts and Music CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Fine Arts & Music Collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.
Alternate Name(s):famc, PPFA
New York State NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowDatabase indexes ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
Alternate Name(s):nysn, SP01
NewsstandThis link opens in a new windowThis innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.