Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We the People...the Citizen and the Constitution: Research

This project's purpose is to create a dialogue between one of the founders and a contemporary political or social figure.

Databases

  • This database will support your searches for both historical and contemporary figures and events. (Based on your level, I have switched out for a more advanced database than during the lesson)

  • This database specializes in the history of the United States. It is also a fine site to support historical and contemporary people and issues.

Books from the Collection: Historical

Websites

  • Library of Congress Digital Collections is a treasure trove of primary source documentation like letters and personal accounts. Primary sources are a window into the real people behind the historical name.
  • Oyez, pronounced oh-YAY, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
  • Founders Online contains correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.

  • The ACLU provides a succinct history of the Bill of rights and the role of civil liberties to the founding fathers. 

  • Constitution Facts has a great collection of the journals and diaries of the founding fathers. 

Books from the Collection: Contemporary

Watch & Learn

Podcasts (tag: Founding Fathers)