Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing Resources: Where Do I Start?: Using Library Databases

This guide will teach students how to access information using various library resources and how to insert the information into their research papers.

Before You Begin

SIGN INTO GOOGLE DRIVE! 

Organizing the information you are accessing is a crucial step towards producing a well-written research paper.  Save your work to Google Drive.  Use your Murrow Google account for school and library work; your personal account will not work

  • The email you should use is @nycstudents.net 

Organize It!

Once you have selected what you want to save and sent it to your drive, look at the folders in your drive.  You will see it created its own folder for you (labeled as whichever database you are using). If you click it and open it, it is in Google Docs so you can edit it.  Citations are at the end of the article.

More Databases

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Digital Resources

Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

(If you are asked for a sign-in password, use empirelink (all lower-case)).

Library Databases vs. Google

 

WHY USE A DATABASE?

 Many articles found in library databases have undergone a peer review process and are generally more reliable than information found on the Internet. Additionally, databases provide all the information you need to evaluate a source for credibility (such as author name, publication details, and a summary).