LibGuides: Economics Semester Research Project: Research

1. What government failures have led to major problems in American economics?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
JStor
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.

Brookings Institution
Provides in-depth analysis of policy failures and their economic consequences.
Council on Foreign Relations
Features articles and reports on U.S. economic policy issues.

3. Should healthcare be run by the government?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale Health & Wellness
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Opposing Viewoints Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

National Academy of Medicine
Research and opinions on healthcare policy and systems.
Health Affairs
Detailed policy discussions on government involvement in healthcare.

5. Is the current minimum wage fair? How does the minimum wage help or hinder Americans?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Opposing Viewoints Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Research on minimum wage policies and economic outcomes.
Pew Research Center
Data and analysis on the effects of minimum wage on workers.

7. Do foreign investments threaten the American economy?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Business Economics and Theory The Business Economics & Theory Collection offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
JStor
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.

The Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE)
Studies on foreign investment and its effects on U.S. economic security.
The World Bank
Global data and analysis on foreign direct investment and economic impact.

2. How has Obamacare (Affordable Care Act) affected American economics positively/negatively?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Opposing Viewoints Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Kaiser Family Foundation
Comprehensive analysis on the economic impacts of the Affordable Care Act.
The Commonwealth Fund
Today, the mission of the Commonwealth Fund is to promote a high-performing, equitable health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society’s most vulnerable, including people of color, people with low income, and those who are uninsured.

4. Discuss stadium building and their effects on city-wide economic earnings, expenditures, do the benefits outweigh the costs and other issues surrounding stadium building.

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Business Economics and Theory The Business Economics & Theory Collection offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
Brooklyn Public Library barcode needed

The Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
Research on the cost-benefit analysis of stadium construction.

6. Discuss immigration and its effects on America’s economic system.

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
JStor
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.
Opposing Viewoints Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
Nonpartisan research on immigration and its economic impact.
American Immigration Council
Insight into immigration’s role in the U.S. economy.

8. Does China threaten the United States economically?

Database(s)
Vetted Websites

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
JStor
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.

The U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission (USCC)
Reports and research on the economic relations between the U.S. and China.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
Analysis of the U.S.-China economic rivalry and trade issues.

Economics Semester Research Project: Research

header

1. What government failures have led to major problems in American economics?

3. Should healthcare be run by the government?

5. Is the current minimum wage fair? How does the minimum wage help or hinder Americans?

7. Do foreign investments threaten the American economy?

2. How has Obamacare (Affordable Care Act) affected American economics positively/negatively?

4. Discuss stadium building and their effects on city-wide economic earnings, expenditures, do the benefits outweigh the costs and other issues surrounding stadium building.

6. Discuss immigration and its effects on America’s economic system.

8. Does China threaten the United States economically?