LibGuides: Civil Rights Movement in America (1950's and 1960's): Using Library Databases

Before You Begin

SIGN INTO GOOGLE DRIVE!

Organizing the information you are accessing is a crucial step towards producing a well-written research paper. Save your work to Google Drive. Use your Murrow Google account for school and library work; your personal account will not work.

The email you should use is @nycstudents.net

Organize It!

Once you have selected what you want to save and sent it to your drive, look at the folders in your drive. You will see it created its own folder for you (labeled as whichever database you are using). If you click it and open it, it is in Google Docs so you can edit it. Citations are at the end of the article.

More Databases

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Digital Resources

Gale Academic Onefile
Collection of scholarly journals and general interest titles that covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences
Gale Student Resources-in-Context
Offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking and problem solving,.
more...less...
All of Gale's "in-context" databases provide enhanced content, with background and guidance on each topic.
Gale General Onefile
General-interest periodical resource allows user to find information they want,quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.

Opposing Viewoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Gale-in-Context: U.S History
Supports U.S History studies and provides an overview of our nation's past. Covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements.

Library Databases vs. Google

WHY USE A DATABASE?

Most articles found in library databases have undergone a peer review process, are updated regularly, and are generally more reliable than information found on the Internet. Additionally, databases provide all the information you need to evaluate a source for credibility (such as author name, publication details, and a summary).