LibGuides: LGBTQ+ History, Culture, and Activism: Home

Databases

Gale OneFile: High School Edition Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
JStor JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.
Opposing Viewoints Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

GLAAD
Founded in 1985, GLAAD is a non-profit organization focused on LGBTQ advocacy and cultural change.
The Trevor Project
Youth-focused resources, stats, and stories.
The LGBTQ History Project
Primary sources and historical materials.
Library of Congress LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive
Digitized historical documents and timelines.
Human Rights Campaign
Policy updates, profiles of activists, and infographics.
OutHistory.org
Interactive LGBTQ+ historical archive curated by historians.
Stonewall National Museum, Archives, & Library
Includes visual exhibits and documents.