LibGuides: APUSH Research: Research

Databases

BEFORE you begin, SIGN IN TO GOOGLE DRIVE!

Organizing the information you are accessing is a crucial step towards producing a well-written research paper. Save your work to Google Drive. Use your Murrow Google account for school and library work; your personal account will not work.

This database will support your searches for both historical and contemporary figures and events.

This database specializes in the history of the United States. It is also a fine site to support historical and contemporary people and issues.

Gale databases have notable FEATURES for WORKING WITH SEARCH RESULTS: Sort, Filter, Topic Finder
Gale products also offer TOOLS for WORKING WITH DOCUMENTS: Cite, Send To, Get Link, Download or Print, Highlight/Notes, Translate, Listen

Academic Onefile
This database is a collection of scholarly journals and general interest titles that covers everything from art and literature to economics, history and the sciences.

Primary Source Collections

Coalition of State Museum Associations
This is a state and regional directory of state museums, a plethora of primary sources.
Preservation Directory
Directory of Historical Societies and Preservation Organizations, listed by state
Legal Information/Cases
NYPL Archives
Archives are the records created by people and organizations as they lived and worked. Collections can range in size from a single letter or diary to thousands of boxes of institutional records. They can contain drafts of literary works, financial records, meeting minutes, reports, memorabilia, as well as sound recordings, videos, film, databases, and software.
Digital Public Libraries of America
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. We preserve and provide access to historical materials, support research, and create interactive programs and exhibits that educate and inspire.

BPL

YOU MUST HAVE A BROOKLYN PUBLIC LIBRARY BARCODE TO USE THESE RESOURCES. CLICK HERE TO GET AN ACCOUNT.

ABC-CLIO American History
Conduct research on American history with more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including overview essays, biographies, government and court documents, photos, maps, audio/video clips, and statistics.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journals, books, and primary sources as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The material available spans many disciplines in the arts, sciences, and humanities.

Websites Featuring Primary Sources

America's Historical Documents
The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government. Here is a sample of these records, from our most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises .
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.
Historical Government Documents
Links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.
The Library of Congress
The Library of Congress houses collections of primary sources related to American History.
Lower East Side Tenement Museum
We tell the stories of working-class tenement residents, who moved to New York City from other countries and other parts of the country.
The Miller Center
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation's governance challenges.
The Museum of the City of New York Archives
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.
National Immigration Museum
The Ellis Island National Museum of Immigration is a living monument to the story of the American people.
National Museum of American History
Empowering people to create a just and compassionate future by exploring, preserving, and sharing the complexity of our past.
Newton Gresham Library
Find and search American History primary source collections on the Internet.
New York Historical Society
A great destination for history since 1804, the Museum and the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library convey the stories of the city and nation’s diverse populations, expanding our understanding of who we are as Americans and how we came to be.
Shapell Manuscript Foundation
The Shapell Manuscript Foundation is an independent educational organization dedicated to collecting and exhibiting original manuscripts and historical documents.
Smithsonian Institute of American Art
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
The White House
Information about the office of the Presidency

Books From the Collection

The American Revolution by Amy B. Rogers; John Davenport
Call Number: 973.3 ROG
ISBN: 9781534560413
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The American Revolution by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 973.3 AME
ISBN: 9781465446077
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources, Volume 1 by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: 355 UND
ISBN: 9781610699334
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
American Revolution to Mexican-American War
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources, Volume 2 by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: 355 UND
ISBN: 9781610699334
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
American Civil War to Spanish-American War